Blog
Live or Heat-Treated: Which Akkermansia Is in the Capsule?
Pasteurized bacteria have been heat treated and are no longer alive, while live ones can still grow. In the one pilot trial, the pasteurized group showed the clearer gains in insulin markers. The Trimoryn label lists Akkermansia muciniphila at 1 billion CFU and does not say whether it is live or pasteurized, so ask the seller before assuming.
Written by the Trimoryn label deskUpdated · 5 min read

The basics01
What is the difference between live and pasteurized bacteria?
Live bacteria are alive when you swallow them. Pasteurized bacteria have been heat treated and are not.
The word probiotic means live microorganisms intended to have health benefits, and the effects depend on the strain and the condition 1. A heat-treated product is a different thing, sometimes called a postbiotic. Makers can use it because Akkermansia is sensitive to air, and live cells are hard to keep alive on a shelf.
The trial02
What did the pilot trial use?
It tested both forms against placebo and found the clearer gains in the pasteurized group.
The pilot enrolled 40 adults and 32 finished three months at 10 billion bacteria a day, live or pasteurized. Compared with placebo, the pasteurized group had better insulin sensitivity (+28.6%), lower insulin and lower total cholesterol. Weight fell slightly versus placebo, but not significantly 2.
| Question | Live | Pasteurized |
|---|---|---|
| Alive when swallowed? | Yes | No |
| Counted in CFU? | Yes | No, as CFU needs living cells |
| Clearer trial gains? | Not reported as clearer | Yes, in insulin markers |
| Printed on the Trimoryn label? | The label gives 1 billion CFU and no form | |
CFU03
Why does a CFU number raise a question?
CFU counts cells that can multiply, so it fits live bacteria and does not fit heat-treated ones.
A printed figure of 1 billion CFU suggests live organisms at the time of testing. But the label does not state when that count applies. It could be at manufacture or at the best-by date, and the two can differ by a lot. We cover that in the post on CFU. The label also gives no strain code for either bacterium, which would help you look up research.

Trimoryn: 30 capsules a bottle1 capsule a day, 15 to 30 minutes before a meal · price and shipping at checkout · 60-day guarantee (confirm)
See packsAsk first04
What can you ask the seller?
Ask five plain questions and keep the answers in writing.
Which form?
Ask whether the Akkermansia is live or pasteurized.
Which strain?
Ask for the strain name or code, if one exists.
What count, and when?
Ask if 1 billion CFU holds at manufacture or at expiry.
What storage?
Ask if the bottle needs a cool place, since the label gives no storage line in our notes.
Which test?
Ask for a lab report, and see our note on testing and quality.
Next step05
Should this change your decision?
It may, because an unanswered question about the form is a fair reason to wait.
No source tested Trimoryn, and the NIH says little evidence shows weight-loss supplements work 3. If you want to go ahead, keep taking prescribed medicine and ask your doctor or pharmacist first. People with weak immune systems should be especially careful with any probiotic.

Popular
3 bottles: 90 days
$207$69 a bottle
Shipping shown at checkout · 60-day guarantee (confirm)
Order 3 bottles
Lowest per bottle
6 bottles: 180 days
$294$49 a bottle
Shipping shown at checkout · 60-day guarantee (confirm)
Order 6 bottlesPrices are per bottle for each pack; the checkout shows the final total and shipping 4. Check your medicines with your doctor or pharmacist before you order.
FAQ06
Trimoryn questions people ask
Is the Akkermansia in Trimoryn live or pasteurized?
The label does not say. It prints 1 billion CFU and nothing about heat treatment.
Why would a maker choose pasteurized Akkermansia?
Heat-treated cells are steadier on a shelf, and the pilot trial found its clearer gains with that form.
Can pasteurized bacteria be counted in CFU?
No. CFU counts living cells that can form colonies, so a heat-treated product needs a different measure.
Do I need to refrigerate a bottle with Akkermansia?
Our notes list no storage line beyond the standard label caution, so ask the seller and read the bottle.
Who wrote this07
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the label, the sales page and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . Read our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is the information site for a USA Authorized Trimoryn Retailer. It is not the manufacturer or the distributor named on the label. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Trimoryn
USA Authorized Trimoryn Retailer
Ready to try Trimoryn?
Check your medicines first, especially diabetes medicine, then pick a pack. Prices and shipping are shown at checkout; the brief lists a 60-day guarantee, to be confirmed on the live page.
- Secure checkout on the sales site
- 60-day guarantee (confirm live policy)
- Tracking in the order email


